Posted by: hinaichigo1713 | July 28, 2012

Berikyuu members to star in new stage play

Sorry about this being late, I was looking into it a bit more to find some more info on it.

Some of the members of Berikyuu have been cast in the first stage play adaption of populate manga series Cat’s Eye by Hojo Tsukasa, which also had a popular anime adaption. The production will be produced by Niwa Tamon Andrew.

Sudo Maasa, Shimizu Saki, Sugaya Risako, Kumai Yurina, Yajima Maimi, Nakajima Saki and Hagiwara Mai will be in the stage play.

The story follows three sisters who run a coffee shop by day and steal pieces of art by night, and how they lead police officer Utsumi Toshio, who also happens to be the fiancé of one of the sisters, by the nose.

Yajima, Hagiwara and Sudo will be taking the lead roles, playing the sister trio.

Yajima said about the pressure from having to play characters in a famous manga series, “I didn’t know of the original series. I have only heard the theme song and its chorus.” Sudo also commented, “I knew that the series was popular but didn’t know what it was about. I’m beginning to learn more about it by starting on the anime.

There will be two different stories for the stage play. “A version” which will feature the people who steal, and “B version” will feature the people who get their stuff stolen, and all the cast members will play the same roles in both “A version” and “B version.”

The seven ladies are also part of a new unit, “Cat’s Eye Seven” formed for this stage play (similar to High-King, except they won’t continue like High-King did).

When the girls were asked about their individual roles, Yajima responded, “Because I’m acting as a thief, it seems that there will a lot of action scenes. I will work hard practicing for them.” Sudo responded, “My character is an attractive and sexy person, so I will brush up on my sex appeal,” while Hagiwara said, “She’s a very cheerful person who never stops smiling, so I will work hard on my smile.

The ladies also performed a remade version of the original theme song. Shimizu Saki (who will be acting as a police officer), commented on the theme song, “I have heard the original song before, but I only know the chorus.” Yajima added in, “This new arrangement has some rap parts and I think it is different from the original song, so I would like for our fans to listen to it.

The play will be showing at Ikeburo Sunshine Theater from September 22 to the 30th, and Osaka Ion Cosmetics Theater BRAVA! on October 13th and 14th.

If you’re in Japan at that time, I suggest getting some tickets! This stage play sounds interesting, and I think I’d like to see it, dispute having never heard if the anime/manga before.

Tickets sell in advance for 6700 yen and on-site for 7000 yen. Ticket sales will start August 4th for the Tokyo show and August 11 for the Osaka show.

Leave a Reply

Categories

