Posted by: hinaichigo1713 | May 23, 2014

Berryz New Single MVs Released!

Both MVs have now been released! I’ll give you my thoughts and the videos themselves as always for those who may not have seen them yet or would like to see them again!

Starting with Ai wa Itsumo Kimi no Naka ni, which was released today.

The song itself was surprising. I was expecting something cool and maybe a bit sexy given the outfits, but this wasn’t what I had in mind. The song is very violin-driven, with a lot of drums added in and an instrumental that is very military-styled. The song doesn’t add in dance beats until the 0:37 mark, but holds it for the rest of the song. The english translated lyrics are oddly worded and so they are a bit of a mess, but I’m sure they’re awesome if properly translated. The melody of the lyrics… Well, I don’t know how I feel about this song. I like it, but I don’t know if I love it yet. It may grow on me. I find the choruses a little weak, and maybe a bit too short… But overall the song is good.

The music video is impressive, considering what we’ve seen from Berryz recently. The music video matches the song well, with dark tones and lots of deep shadows. The music video is made up of the dance shot and the close up, but the different angles and the lighting makes it visually interesting enough to not bother me in the least. The dance shot is the most impressive, with the strip of red carpet laid across the black floor and the way the girl’s shadows hit the wall behind them due to the lighting and how that changes as it goes along, a few times with red lighting and such. It makes it all seem very cool and mysterious and matches the army styled song and the dance (although once again, they’ve received something simple dance-wise). Just a fantastic music video all together.

So overall, the music video is great, the song is good, and the outfits and vocals get thumbs up from me, and the dance is alright. I’ll wait until the dance shot to truly judge. 3/5 for me.

Moving on to Fuutsu, Idol 10nen Yatterannai Desho?!.

This song, as it stands right now, is the better song on the single for me. The song is more on the fun side (mostly the chorus) and is fit for summer. All the girls get lines, and to be honest I think Chinami, Saki and Maasa got more lines in this song than they have in any Berryz single previously since debut. The song’s lyrics are awesome, reflecting the girls’ 10 years as idols and the troubles they’ve had as a result. A lot of people are worried this is a graduation song, but I have no idea where they’re getting that idea from. The lyrics say “Giving up my youth is something I’m proud of” and “But I’m still an idol, I love it”. It’s a song that recognizes their struggles and problems but also saying “So this is what we’ve been through, but we want to keep going because we love it”. Everyone should calm down – I think Berryz will be around for a little while more. Plus, they wouldn’t be doing so much promotion and going to Paris this year if they were to disband shortly thereafter.

The music video, despite celebrating 10 years, is simple, with just the close up and dance shot. I was hoping they would recap their past singles or something, but they did include pictures of the girls growing up and such on boards behind them and shows a few shots of them looking at it. I think it could have had something more but, what can you do? The outfits are okay but I’m not liking what Yurina or Maasa are in. The dance is cute, I thought at first it contained dance moves from past singles and songs but I may be wrong about that when the full dance shot is released. The horse dance moves during that kickass beat instrumental break are a little silly, though. Also, speaking of the horse, in case anyone’s wondering – it’s in there because when they made their debut it was the year of the horse in Chinese zodiac astrology, and this year is also the year of the horse, so it’s like a cool little thing they put in there.

Overall, the music video is okay, the dance is okay, the song is awesome as are the lyrics and all the girls get a good amount of lines! I don’t know how long it’ll last but I like it! 5/5 for me.

The single releases June 4th.

Leave a Reply

Categories

