Posted by: hinaichigo1713 | September 9, 2014

Juice=Juice New Single MVs Released

The MVs for J=J’s upcoming double a-side single, Senobi/Date Janai yo Uchi no Jinsei wa, have been released in full on their official YouTube channel.

I’ll start with my thoughts on Senobi.

Well, this song is a bit of a surprise from J=J for me. They’ve done a lot of different styles since their debut with each single, but this is the first song to have a disco feel to it, mixed with a little EDM (which is also a first for the group). The opening’s build up is great, the instrumental is fun and dance-y. It reminds me of an older H!P sound mixed with new H!P in a way. The verses are catchy, the melody flows well. The lyrics aren’t Tsunku’s best, in my opinion, but the girls sing them well. The whoa whoa whoa’s are a little overdone I think, but after a couple of listens they grew on me quite a bit. The EDM doesn’t really kick in until the instrumental break, and remains pretty soft for the majority of the song. I don’t think it ruins the song as some do, but I do feel the song would have been fine without it. This song is great, but I’m having a bit of a hard time with the fact that it’s a Juice=Juice song. I think this song could have easily been a C-ute song, a Berryz song, a S/mileage song or even a Momusu album track. Juice=Juice seem to be all over the place with their sound, and I don’t know how good of a thing that is. Then again, I also loved and deeply miss the jazzy sound they had, so it could be a little bias mixed in with my opinions.

So the song isn’t an amazing release for me, but the music video is a lovely one! This video is the usual H!P formula, done in a very eye-catching way that makes it visually stunning! The video starts out with a muted, blue-filtered look to it, which looks really cool. Once the first chorus kicks in and the music picks up, it brightens up and that muted filter is removed. Juice=Juice’s bright blue outfits, the white floor/stage/room set up, and blue tubes in the background in the wall, all remind me of old 2000’s music videos for some reason. The muted coloured shots appear here and there throughout the video, but I think I wouldn’t mind if the whole video was done that way. It looked really cool and fit the song well. J=J’s dance choreography looks great here. I really like it when they’re walking close together at the same time during the verses, it’s not a formation I’ve seen an H!P group do before. It’s nice to see something different now and again. I also love the different angles used in the dance shots, also a nice change. The girls all look lovely in the close-up shots, but because this video is pretty basic, I don’t have much else to say on it. It reminds me of something Perfume would do video-wise.

Overall, the song is alright, the video is great, the dance looks great too and the girls look and sound awesome! I’ll have to give this an overall rating of 3/5 for me right now, simply because the song isn’t as impressive as past songs have been for me. I’m sure in time it will grow on me as a song, as did C-ute’s Love Take it All.

Onto Date Janai yo Uchi no Jinsei wa.

Finally, Juice=Juice has returned to their classic jazzy sound that I have missed! I think when they do this type of sound, that’s when they’re at their best. It suits them more than anything they’ve tried this year. The instrumental part reminds me a lot of C-ute’s Tokai no Hitogurashi, but it has it’s own sound enough that the similarities are small. The verses kick in and I find it immediately catchy! Starting off with Akari, I was a little disappointed to see each sentence/line is split, so her singing is quite short as Karin jumps in and sings the rest of the line (most of it). I think the line splitting it a little awkward in a few spots, but I’m super delighted to see Akari and Yuka get a few more lines in this song. The chorus is also catchy, and Sayubee for once holds her notes a little better and doesn’t sound like she’s shouting them.

The music video is another impressive one from H!P, straying away from the usual H!P formula in small ways. For starters, the set, if they’re in one, doesn’t look so much like a set, so that’s an instant plus. I love the instruments places around them in the space they’re dancing in, it’s a nice touch. The music video over all gives a very warm feeling, with the colours and the set design. J=J are back in casual clothes once again, which I also think suits them best. For some odd reason, Sayubee has a different outfit between the dance shot and the close ups, which reminds me of C-ute’s Tokaikkou Junjou where Airi had a different outfit between the music video and the covers. I also liked the black and white shots, and how varied the music video is with different close up/singing shots and dance shot angles (loving the aerial view of the dance!). This is just a great music video in general, even if it’s a little more simple than the outside-the-box music videos H!P has been releasing this year and last.

Overall, wonderful song, great video, the dance looks good and the girls look and sound amazing in this song and video as well! This gets 4/5 for me.

We got music videos quite early for this release, usually covers are released before the music video previews, and the actual release date is still 3-4 weeks away (when these videos were released). Normally the music videos are released 1-2 weeks before, so they’re speeding it up. Probably, so they can spend most of this month and next promoting MM’s single. My guess, anyways.

The release date is October 1st.

Leave a Reply

Categories

